Basic Map


Basic Map of the Danish Rail Network.

Download the map as a pdf file.

Included and excluded railways

The Danish rail network has been included in general. The excluded tracks/lines are in part singular preserved tracks detached from the network and/or on a very limited scale (e.g. Bryrup-Vrads Line, the Railway Track Museum Skjoldnæsholm Line and others) and/or narrow-lined "industrial railways" (Blovstrød Line, Hedelands Preserved Line, Tommerup tipping-wagon Line, Hjerl Hede Freeland Museum Line, Stenvad peat Line and others); in part harbouring tracks, shunting lines and marshalling yards, company lines and Railway Undertaking tracks and other similar lines; in part unused tracing lines, historical or planned/site reserved. To facilitate the clarification, the number of tracks and traces are not shown - and the additional technical equipment of the lines has also not been indicated. In order to be able to show the suburban line network, Bornholm and other islands without railways have been exempted.

The main division is between the State Railways, managed by Banedanmark (BD) and other railways, i.e. County & Private lines, that have been gathered into a group. For a completeness of the map, the Swedish part of the Øresund Link has been added. The State Railways have been divided according to the BD Line Categories, albeit they have been adjusted for temporarily closed freight lines (Viborg-Aalestrup-Løgstør, Tommerup-Assens, Vojens-Haderslev, cf. Act 1227 of 18.12.2000) and also the Copenhagen Circle Line presently under construction. County & Private Railways are roughly divided into passenger transport in normally scheduled operation (the 13 former private lines and also Hillerød-Snekkersten) and also in others (Freight lines: Ålborg-Ålborg Østhavn, Pindstrup-Ryomgård, line west of Oksbøl. Preserved Lines: Høng-Gørlev, Maribo-Bandholm, Korinth-Faaborg, Skjern-Videbæk, Strømmen-Pindstup, Fårup/Handest-Mariager, Nørre Nebel-Nymindegab) besides the Copenhagen Metro presently under construction.

Included Stations

To begin with, the junctions (albeit not Snoghøj) and terminal stations of the included railways (except the west end of the Oksbøl Line) have been marked. Also the important stations (København H, Nørreport, Østerport, Lyngby) and stations currently under or expected to be under traffical alteration (Freight Terminal near Glostrup, Ballerup, Holte, Ribe, Silkeborg, Brønderslev) have been marked. Moreover, a number of stations considered characteristic to Danish railway geography (Korsør, Nyborg, Middelfart and Jutlandish Fjordtowns with railways: Kolding, Horsens, Hobro, Skive, Ringkøbing, Lemvig) have been marked.

Banedanmark - Amerika Plads 15 - 2100 København Ø - Tlf. 8234 0000 - - CVR 18632276